top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEric Pellerin

Back to America

Monday, July 30 & Tuesday, July 31, 2018


It is hard to believe that the trip is almost over. This is the view from my window at the Shangri-La Hotel in Jakarta. I will miss this country very much.


We still had some great activities planned in the final days. That's me and Bob being interviewed by the social media department of the American Embassy in Indonesia.


We worked together in several sessions, sharing the work we did in the various schools around Indonesia. This helped us see a fuller picture of Indonesia, trying to avoid the trap of the "single story." In-country consultants Dewi and Rizqi helped us fill in the blanks. That's Dewi and Linda during our final group session on Monday.


We also helped each other make sense of our guiding questions, providing helpful feedback. Rizqi and Linda provided me with insights into the literature of Indonesia. I have three novels to read when I return to America.


On Tuesday, we went on a shopping excursion. Seven floors! I wonder how people make money, here. There are so many shops selling similar merchandise. I used to think Macy's was overwhelming...


Our farewell dinner. It has been an amazing journey. I will miss everyone very much, but I plan on keeping in touch.


Even though I going home, Indonesia will always be with me. The blogs will continue, as I plan to post my reflections on the education system, literature in Indonesia, as well as next steps.


Stay tuned.


217 views2 comments
bottom of page